Even if You Stumble

Raw: https://ncode.syosetu.com/n0018he/16/




Late at night, I was working part-time at a convenience store.

I was so engrossed in looking at the special feature about the magical girl in the newspaper with a smile on my face, that I didn’t notice the shadow approaching in front of me.

When I raised my head and looked forward, the girl who had been reading the newspaper in the corner of the store earlier was looking at me from behind the counter.

She has long hair that extends down to her waist and is tied on both sides with a ribbon just above her ears. Her lips are puckered and there are dark circles under her droopy eyes.

Even though I’m still at work, I ended up become engrossed with the newspaper.

What a blunder, to think I didn’t notice the customer even though she’s right in front of me. No, it can’t be helped, it’s because I’m too short.

“I’m sorry. How can I help you?”

“Magical girls, do you like them? You were reading the special feature right?”


Well, it can’t be helped if I’m found out.

It’s late at night, so there are no other customers, and if someone talks to me, I can’t just ignore them.

Let’s take this chance to have a chat.

“That’s right. All the heroes on the special feature are all cool so I like them.”

“That’s true… This Blackrose girl also fights alone and saves everyone. She’s amazing, isn’t she…”

How do I say it, it’s kind of calm, or is it dark. Even though the words themselves sounded clear, the way she spoke made it seems like she’s doesn’t have confidence in herself.

She was acting a little timid, I was rather impressed that she was even able to talk to me.

“Do you like heroes too?”

“Magical girls, I like them. But, magical girls, what are they fighting for?”

“Isn’t it to protect people?”



Well, I’m different, but I think that’s generally the case.



“I knew it. Protecting someone, is what a magical girl is…. If, there is a magical girl who couldn’t save someone, then she is disqualified as a magical girl…”


She is quite harsh, huh. She probably has high ideals about heroes. I understand. I had a time like that too.

Dreaming of ideals, seeing reality, and being disappointed.

She is probably a pure and innocent child who thinks that an ideal should be perfect.

It would be easy to dismiss it and say that you will understand when you grow up, but that would be difficult to understand and accept.

As an adult and a hero, let’s save all the magical girls whom I have yet to meet.


“I don’t think so. Even if you are told that you are disqualified as a hero because you cannot save someone, if you could help someone else, then I’m sure from that person’s point of view, you are a hero. So please don’t say bad things about magical girls. ”

“I-I’m sorry. Saying something like this to someone who likes magical girls, … It’s rude isn’t it…”

“It’s okay. But even magical girls are human beings. They make mistakes and get hurt. If you really like magical girls, even if they make mistakes, support them.” Even if that child is disqualified from being a hero, someday with that support, he or she will surely become a hero.”


Of course, a hero needs strength and faith, but the support of the people is also a very important factor.

A hero who, with the support of many people, always gets back up no matter how much a pinch he is in. That’s so cool.

Well, of course, there will be times when you won’t be able to save someone, but if that time came then it can’t be helped. You just have to wait for the next opportunity to come along. If you don’t give up on being a hero, and if you can save someone someday, you are a hero to those who are cheering for you.


“Well then, ahem. Would you like to pay the bill?”

“Oh, erm. Yes…”


It’s almost time for me to finish my part-time job. I can’t just talk forever.

I cut off the conversation and prepare to close.

The talk was more bitter than I had expected, but it seems that the hero’s evaluation is rather harsh.

And probably that girl isn’t the only one giving harsh evaluations.

The gap between heroes and non-heroes is not going to be easily bridged.






“I guess, heroes also have it hard.”

“What are you saying all of a sudden kyu…”

I sink onto the sofa and talked with Mokyu while eating the high-grade ice cream I ordered from the magic app store.

As always, the store’s food is a luxury item because of the 1-point minimum value, but like the bread, it comes as an assortment that can be enjoyed over several days. It’s insanely delicious.

While enjoying the strawberry-flavored ice cream, which is one of several ice creams, I chatted with Mokyu, who was eating a deep matcha ice cream.

I want you to share it with me later.


“A hero who can’t save people isn’t a hero.”

“I’ve heard it, they said that a magical girl who can’t help people isn’t a magical girl kyu~. People often think that those with power are not allowed to fail kyu~. Does Roze care about that kyu~?”

“Nah Just think of it as small talk. So, what do you think, Mokyu? If there is a hero who can’t save anyone, do you think she’s not a hero?”

“Mokyu has thought she is a hero since she becomes a magical girl kyu~. To be more precise, I only made a child who had the potential to be a hero into a magical girl, so as long as that remains in her heart, she will always be a hero kyu~”

“Hmm…”

“Even though you’re the one asking about it, your reaction is weak kyu~. Mokyu doesn’t think it’s good kyu~.”

Mokyu waved the wooden ice cream spoon around and protested. Hey, that’s dirty.

I took the spoon, which was full of germs and spreading dirt, and gave Mokyu a justice flick on the forehead.


“Well, when I heard that something popped up on my mind. You know, there are some magical girls who have failed to defeat the ‘Wanderer’. After all, I wonder if that child was worried that she couldn’t help someone. So, I wonder if she is still afraid of trying to save someone.”

“Well, I guess so…. There are some children who are unable to forgive not the judgment of others, but themselves, for not being able to save someone kyu~. That kind of children thinks they are not worthy of being heroes. kyu~”

I also have the viewpoint that I am a hero only when I save someone, but I still think myself is the most important. I may feel inadequate when I can’t save someone, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to quit being a hero. However, who will help a child who has not by the label given by others but the child themself who thinks they are disqualified as a hero?

I pinched the ears of this steamed bun that was trying to snatch my ice cream.

“Roze unexpectedly has a tendency to think too much about other people kyu~.”

“It’s the first time I’ve been told something like that directly, so I can’t help but think about it. And it’s not someone else’s problem, isn’t it? I’m a self-centered hero. If I was asked who I would save, myself or others, I would choose myself. I dread the thought of being told I’m disqualified as a hero.”

“Even if they did, Roze would be fine kyu~. You’re not a hero that would change just because of other people’s opinions anyway kyu~. Unlike other magical girls, you also don’t fret over things like that, so it’s useless to think about it kyu~.”


Well, it is true, and I myself believe that my heroic spirit is not determined by what others think of me. It is true, but… I think it is inevitable that I will get angry if others say that. Let’s engrave on this steamed bun’s body that just because it’s the truth doesn’t mean you can just say it out like that. And how dare you eat my ice cream? You have some nerve.

Mokyu’s words became the gong to start the war, and the air become tense.

I roll up my arms and strike a fighting pose, concentrating on what Mokyu will do.

In a room where the serious atmosphere has long since fizzled out, a wrestling match with a steamed bun began on the sofa.



5 responses to “Even if You Stumble”

  1. “It’s okay. But even magical girls are human beings.” < the paragraph that starts with this is repeated twice

    Thanks for the translation!

  2. IN THE WHITE CORNER! WE HAVE THE DEFENDING CHAMP! MOKYUUUUUUUU!!!

    IN THE BLACK CORNER! WE HAVE THE UNSTOPPABLE FORCE! THE HARBINGER OF JUSTICE! THE MAN TURNED GIRL! ROOOOOOOOOOOSE!

    THIS IS A BATTLE FOR ALL OF THE ICE CREAM AND GRUDGES THAT THEY HAVE! GET READY, JET SET! FIGHT!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started